Trending News
Home » Newswire » Soul Players Named to All-Arena Squads

Soul Players Named to All-Arena Squads

Report From Philadelphia Soul


PHILADELPHIA– The Arena Football League today announced the 2016 All-Arena Teams.  Adam Smith (6’5, 320, Western Kentucky), K Tommy Frevert (6’0, 200, Northwest Missouri), DL Jake Metz (6’6, 265, Shippensburg), JLB Joe Goosby (6’1, 235, Tulane) and DB Tracy Belton (6’0, 180, UMass) were awarded to First Team All-Arena this season.  QB Dan Raudabaugh (6’3, 230, Miami OH), FB Jeramie Richardson (6’1, 270, Angelo State), OL Neal Tivis (6’5, 325, Abilene Christian), C Wayne Tribue (6’3, 330, Temple) and DL Teddy Jennings (6’6, 250, Connecticut) and DB Dwayne Hollis (5’10, 185, NC Wesleyan) were awarded to Second Team All-Arena.


“These are well-deserved awards and I am extremely proud of these guys,” said Soul head coach Clint Dolezel. “Five months of hard work has really paid off, but the end goal is a championship title, so we still have some work to do.”


In his fifth season with the Soul, Raudabaugh was ranked No. 2 in passing touchdowns (101) and No. 2 in the League in passing yards (4,303).  The Offensive Player of the Year candidate threw 339-for-489 for 4,303 yards and only 13 interceptions this season.


Adam Smith, Wayne Tribue, and Neal Tivis have been members of a dynamic offensive line that have allowed only five sacks on the quarterback, the best in the League.  The Soul also rank No. 2 in total offense (4,760) and Smith currently holds the franchise record in touchdowns by a tight end (12).


Jeramie Richardson has made a huge impact this year for the team.  He was ranked second in the league in rushing attempts (103) and rushing yards (320).  He finished tied for first in the league for rushing touchdowns (20).


In his second season with the team, Frevert has made great improvements to the Soul’s special teams. The 2015 Kicker of the Year currently leads the League in number of PATs (118-of-129) and third in the League in onside kicks (4).


In Metz’s second year with the team, he led the league in sacks (8.0) and totaled 29.5 tackles, three pass break-ups and two forced fumbles.  He also caught his first touchdown as a tight end against the Tampa Bay Storm on Week 6.


This is Goosby’s sixth season in the AFL and fifth with the Soul.  He tallied 70.0 total tackles, 3.5 tackles for loss, two interceptions for 25 yards and five pass break-ups.


Tracy Belton has been a fantastic addition to the Soul secondary.  He led the league in interceptions (9) and led the Soul defense with 90.0 total tackles, 20 pass break-ups, two fumble recoveries and one forced fumble.


In just 10 games played, Jennings ranked second on the team and fourth overall in the league with sacks (7.0).  He also had 19.5 total tackles, three quarterback hurries, four blocked kicks, and two pass break-ups.


Hollis finished his second season with the Soul tied for second in the league in interceptions (8).  He was ranked third on the league with 66.0 total tackles, eight pass break-ups, and 16 passes defended.


The full 2016 All-Arena teams are detailed below:

First Team All-Arena Second Team All-Arena
QB Nick Davila, Arizona QB Dan Raudabaugh, Philadelphia
FB Mykel Benson, Arizona FB Jeramie Richardson, Philadelphia
WR Joe Hills, Jacksonville WR Donovan Morgan, LA
WR Rod Windsor, Arizona WR T.T. Toliver, Tampa Bay
WR Brandon Thompkins, Orlando WR Collin Taylor, Cleveland
C Joe Madsen, Cleveland C Wayne Tribue, Philadelphia
C Jordan Mudge, Arizona OL Neal Tivis, Philadelphia
OL Cornelius Lewis, Jacksonville OL DJ Brandel, Cleveland
OL Adam Smith, Philadelphia
DL Jake Metz, Philadelphia DL Teddy Jennings, Philadelphia
DL Damien Borel, Arizona DL Daryl Cato-Bishop, Orlando
NG Randy Colling, Cleveland NG Dimetrio, Tyson, Arizona
MLB Tyre Glasper, Arizona MLB Dexter Jackson, Jacksonville
JLB Joe Goosby, Philadelphia JLB Terence Moore, Orlando
DB Tracy Belton, Philadelphia DB Dwayne Hollis, Philadelphia
DB Greg Reid, Jacksonville DB Marvin Ross, Cleveland
DB Varmah Sonie, Orlando DB Frederick Obi, LA
K Tommy Frevert, Philadelphia K Mark Lewis, Orlando
ST Brandon Thompkins, Orlando KR Larry Beavers, Cleveland


The Soul host the Jacksonville Sharks in the American Conference Championship on Sunday, August 14.  Kickoff is at 6 p.m.  The game will be broadcast on ESPN2 and can be heard live on 97.5 The Fanatic.

Scroll To Top